You google “free AI interview assistant” and eye-catching claims (no credit card, unlimited minutes, undetectable) fill the page. In reality, every free offer falls into one of three buckets:
Recurring freemium: small minutes that replenish on a schedule Open-source or BYOK: software is $0, but you supply API keys or setup time Free to evaluate: the install is free; your first live interview isn’tSome employers, including the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, ban undisclosed AI help. This guide compares eight Mac-friendly assistants, spells out what each $0 tier truly delivers, and flags technical or policy landmines before you risk the offer.
Key takeaways
As of November 2026, every free AI interview assistant fits one of three categories: recurring freemium (minutes that refill on a schedule), open-source / BYOK (software is free but you supply API tokens or setup time), or free to evaluate (the install costs nothing; live interviews cost).
Keep three guardrails in view:
The largest renewable allowance today is three 15-minute sessions per month on Verve AI’s free tier. Good for drills, not a full panel. “Undetectable” describes what a screen share shows. Endpoint monitoring on a managed computer is a separate layer. Employers such as the U.S. Office of Personnel Management and Target forbid undisclosed AI help, so confirm any copilot use with your recruiter first.Hold these filters and the rest of the guide will map each tool to your workflow.
The eight-tool snapshot
The chart below shows each assistant’s free reality as of November 2026. Focus on the “Live $0 allowance” and “Resets?” columns first; those two figures reveal whether a tool can handle a full interview or only a short drill.
ToolFree modelLive $0 allowanceResets?macOS deliveryCoding helpScreen-share claimPaid escape hatchVerve AIRecurring freemium3 × 15 minMonthlyNative + webYesPersonal-view onlyStandard $16.99 or Pro $34.99, billed annuallyBeakRecurring freemium15 minMonthlyNative appScreenshot of a coding promptDesktop overlay, no meeting bot$19 one-off Flex Pass or $29/mo ProSensei AIFreemium (cap unclear)15 min††Reset not statedBrowser-basedYesHidden overlay$89/mo ProNativelySource-available / BYOKUnlimited‡No timerNative app (Apple Silicon and Intel)YesHidden from screen shareAPI cost, or Pro licence $39/yrOpenCluelyOpen source / BYOKUnlimited‡No timerRun from sourceYesHidden from screen shareGemini API cost; DIY fixesParakeetAIFree to evaluateShort live sampleOne timeNative + ChromeYesPrivacy modeCredits from $38 or $149.90/moFinal Round AIFree to evaluateNo live minutes, no trialNoNot statedNot statedNot stated$150/mo, or $25/mo billed yearlyInterview CopilotFree to evaluatePractice-interview testOne timeNative appYesExcluded from share$49/mo or $149/yr† Vendor lists a 15-minute Copilot session but does not publish the reset schedule.
‡ Software imposes no timer, yet model tokens, downloads, or hardware still cost money.
The three kinds of free
(Pricing and limits checked November 2026)
1. Recurring freemium: minutes that reset themselves
Think of a parking meter that clears overnight. A recurring freemium plan gives you a small slice of live help and refills it on a set schedule.
Verve AI offers three 15-minute sessions per month plus five mock interviews, all without a credit card. Beak grants 15 minutes each month and sells a $19 Flex Pass when you need more. Sensei AI lists 15-minute free sessions, but the refresh window remains unpublished.Why it helps: you always know when the clock refills. Why it hurts: a visible timer can raise stress, and 15 minutes rarely covers a full technical round. Use these plans for daily drills, then arrange a paid backup before game day.
2. Open source / BYOK: free code, paid in sweat
This model removes the platform fee but shifts cost into setup and compute. You download the app, supply API keys, or run a local model with Ollama. With a fully local setup, your résumé and interview audio stay on your Mac.
Natively runs on Apple Silicon and Intel Macs and lets you start free with your own keys or run fully offline with local Ollama models. You cover model tokens or hardware time. OpenCluely is a free, MIT-licensed desktop app built on Google Gemini; on macOS there is no pre-built download, so you run it from source with one setup script.Two realities shape this bucket:
Setup replaces subscription. Expect installers, API keys, and the occasional dependency storm. Performance depends on hardware. Local speech and language models lean on your Mac’s chip, so an older machine will feel slower.Choose BYOK when privacy matters more than convenience and you enjoy tinkering; otherwise, include the hidden time cost in your “free” equation and keep a paid fallback ready.
3. Free to evaluate: the paywall that drops at showtime
These apps feel open until a real interview starts.
Interview Copilot is free to download, and you can test it on a practice interview with no credit card. Live use requires a flat $49 monthly or $149 yearly plan: unlimited sessions, no credits, and no timer anxiety. ParakeetAI offers a short live sample, then routes you to credits (from $38 for one) or an unlimited plan at $149.90 per month. Idle time counts, so a single technical round can burn through several.When to choose this model:
You know your interview dates and can confine spending to a tight window. You need unlimited minutes for a packed onsites week (Interview Copilot). You want a polished interface and are willing to pay ParakeetAI’s rates.Remember: a free download is not a free interview. Confirm where the paywall sits before relying on any assistant live.
Interview Copilot: free to try, paid when it counts
Interview Copilot is a native desktop app for Mac and Windows. It installs free, so you can upload a résumé, link Zoom, Meet, Teams, or Webex, and test it on a practice interview before you pay.
Interview Copilot desktop app and unlimited live sessions pricing screenshot
When you are ready for the real thing, interviewcopilot.ai for Mac and Windows spells out a single flat plan, $49 per month or $149 per year, that unlocks unlimited live interviews and coding help with no credits or timers.
The app listens to system audio, detects questions, and shows guidance from your résumé and job description in an on-screen overlay. Glance mode offers quick talking points, and a shortcut sends a coding task, diagram, document, or job post for instant analysis; the company says answers start in under a second. No bot joins the call.
Why it matters: a flat rate removes timer stress. Instead of watching minutes drain, or counting credits during silence, you stay focused on answers.
On screen: the company says the overlay stays out of screen shares, recordings, and screenshots, even when you share a full monitor, and markets it as “Undetectable in any meeting.” There is no Dock or taskbar icon. The company advises against using a work, school, or managed computer, because those often run monitoring software.
Privacy: the company says interview audio is streamed for transcription, not stored; final transcript segments and analyzed screenshots are stored with the account so you can review the conversation afterwards; interview data does not train public models, and personal data is not sold.
Best for candidates with several interviews in one billing cycle who want unlimited usage and predictable cost.
Watch out for the lack of a free live tier, though every payment carries a full refund if you email within 7 days of it. If you prefer to sample live minutes before paying, see Verve AI’s free allowance.
Final Round AI: unlimited live sessions on Pro
Final Round AI has no renewable free tier for live interviews, so it sits in the free to evaluate bucket. There is no free trial of the live copilot; live help requires Pro, which costs $150 per month, or $25 per month only when billed yearly.
What you can do: upload a résumé, paste a job description, and practice in mock environments. When you upgrade to Pro, you gain unlimited live sessions without caps.
Why it shines
Unlimited live copilot sessions on the Pro plan Strong mock interview features on the free tierCaution
No free live minutes; you must pay before using it in a real interviewFinal Round AI excels as a comprehensive prep tool but requires a paid commitment when panel day arrives.
Verve AI: three longer shots and a practice gym each month
Verve AI’s free plan trades daily sips for three 15-minute live sessions per month, plus five mock interviews and a stealth mode, all without a credit card. The rhythm fits milestone prep: one session for the recruiter screen, one for the technical round, and one for the final panel.
Why it helps
Longer, uninterrupted blocks let you rehearse a full question sequence. Mock interviews score eye contact, filler words, and STAR structure before you spend live minutes.Mac workflow
The universal desktop app has a browser fallback in Chrome. Screen-recording permission appears once; microphone and accessibility follow. Any tab-based overlay is visible if you share the entire browser window.
Privacy and price
Verve says audio streams through encrypted channels and deletes after the response, but no independent audit is public. Paid tiers are Standard at $16.99 and Pro at $34.99 per month, billed annually.
Watch-outs
Only three live sessions per month, so running out early means waiting. Browser mode exposes the overlay on full-window shares. Policy clarity beats stealth; disclose use if the recruiter’s rules require it.Beak: 15 free minutes a month and a $19 parachute
Beak’s free tier is clear: 15 minutes of live help each month, no card required, on three economy models. After that, the next option is a $19 Flex Pass: 240 credits, up to four live hours, valid for 90 days, and it never renews. Beak Pro costs $29 per month for up to 12 live hours. For a single critical onsite, the Flex Pass costs less than a week of ParakeetAI’s unlimited plan or a month of Interview Copilot.
How it runs
Beak is a desktop overlay for Windows and macOS that sits beside Zoom, Meet, or Teams; no bot joins the meeting. You can collapse it to a floating bubble, and a screenshot shortcut lets you ask about a slide or a coding prompt.
Privacy
Beak says live audio is transcribed by Speechmatics, the transcript is kept only if you switch saving on, and saved sessions are deleted after 30 days.
Why it fits
Transparent pricing with a one-time option that never renews Every overlay feature works on the free plan A stated retention period, not just “trust us”Watch out
Only 15 free minutes per month; use them and you wait Premium models and other-language answers need a paid planBeak serves as a safety rope for candidates who need exactly one extra-confident interview without locking into a subscription.
Sensei AI: quick browser demo, steep climb to Pro
Sensei AI is browser-based, so you skip the DMG and start in a browser tab. The free tier offers 15-minute Copilot sessions with coding, résumé tools, and a voice-driven “hands-free” mode, yet the site does not say how often those sessions reset, so plan for uncertainty.
Pricing jumps from free to a single $89 per month Pro plan (or $24 per month when billed annually) that provides unlimited sessions. There are no credit packs or mid-tier options.
Sharing: because it runs in the browser, share a single window rather than your whole screen if you do not want the panel to see it.
Good for
Zero-install testing on locked-down machines A rich feature set on the free tier, including coding supportLimitations
Unpublished reset window for free sessions One expensive Pro tier, no smaller step upTreat Sensei as a quick browser taste; if you need predictable minutes or a desktop app, consider other options.
Natively: own your data with a local-first app
Natively can skip the cloud: with local Whisper speech-to-text and Ollama models it runs fully offline on your Mac. It needs macOS 12 or later on Apple Silicon or Intel (Windows 10 and 11 are supported too) and installs from its site or with Homebrew. You choose between local mode (free, offline) or BYOK mode with your own OpenAI, Anthropic, or other keys at your cost. The app is free for personal use and its source is available on GitHub.
If you want the Pro app features, Natively sells a Pro licence for $39 per year or as a one-time lifetime licence (listed at $60, down from $79, in November 2026). Hosted plans that run the AI for you start at $8 per month.
Privacy and stealth
Local mode keeps your audio and data on-device. Natively says it keeps its windows, tooltips, and notifications out of screen shares, and it can disguise its process as a system app in the process list.Strengths
Full data custody with no recurring fees on your own keys A pay-once licence option instead of a subscriptionTrade-offs
Local models need disk space and a capable chip Setup and keys are on youChoose Natively when privacy outweighs convenience and you are willing to exchange a short setup for long-term autonomy.
OpenCluely: free and open source, for those who like to tinker
OpenCluely is a free, MIT-licensed desktop app for technical interviews and practice, under active development on GitHub. It sends your voice or screenshot questions to Google Gemini with your own API key; other model backends are listed as planned. The code is free, but you pay in setup time and token fees.
On macOS there is no pre-built download: the app is unsigned, so Gatekeeper would block a downloaded build. Instead you clone the repository and run its setup script once Node.js is installed; the script installs dependencies, can set up local Whisper for voice, and launches the app. Its overlay is draggable, which suits a second monitor that stays off-camera.
Choose OpenCluely if
You want a free, open-source overlay for coding and algorithm rounds. You are comfortable running open-source apps from a terminal.Skip it if
Your security policy blocks unsigned software. You need a support SLA or one-click updates.ParakeetAI: polished experience, but every word costs a credit
ParakeetAI is the slickest tool in this lineup: desktop apps for macOS and Windows, a Chrome overlay, animated onboarding, and a dashboard that tracks every pause and follow-up. The free sample is tiny: just enough to see a suggestion appear, then the paywall drops.
Pricing
Credits: $38 per credit. Idle time counts, so long silences drain balance. Unlimited: $78 per week, $149.90 per month, or $599.90 per year.What you get
Behavioral prompts, live coding snippets, system-design diagrams, avatar mock interviews, and a company-specific question bank. On Mac, the frameless overlay can sit on an unshared monitor; share the full desktop and the panel is visible.
Privacy
Audio routes through Parakeet’s US servers with AES-256 in transit. No SOC 2 report is public.
Best for
Candidates who want the most polished UI and accept premium pricing Users who prefer one tool for practice, résumé tweaks, and live callsLimitations
Highest effective cost once the free taste ends Credit anxiety; the meter keeps running during silence Cloud-only processing, no local or BYOK modeParakeetAI is the luxury sedan of interview copilots: comfortable, but pricey to keep fueled.
Why “undetectable” rarely means invisible
Vendors often promise an undetectable overlay, and that claim is about one layer of the stack: the part the interviewer sees. Other vantage points tell a different story:
Meeting window. If you share a single Zoom or Meet window, an overlay on your second monitor stays off-camera. Entire display. With browser-based tools, share the full desktop and the overlay can stream to the panel; check how your tool handles a full-screen share before the call. Operating system. macOS Activity Monitor and Windows Task Manager list running processes no matter what you share; some tools, such as Natively, offer to disguise their process name. Enterprise monitoring. Many companies run endpoint agents that log apps, network traffic, and mic activity. That is why vendors such as Interview Copilot advise against using a work or managed computer. Policy. Agencies and employers such as the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, Target, and the College Board explicitly ban undisclosed AI help in interviews or assessments.Bottom line: undetectable means “hidden from a screen share,” not “invisible to IT or policy.” Clear your setup with the recruiter before you risk the offer.
Mac quirks that trip up first-time users
Permissions trio. macOS requests microphone, screen-recording, and accessibility access. Decline any one and the overlay stays silent or frozen. Grant all three, then quit and reopen the app; Screen Recording activates only after a restart. System audio. Some tools capture system audio directly, while others rely on virtual drivers like BlackHole or Loopback. Installing a driver adds a reboot and a trip to System Settings → Privacy & Security. Plan about 20 minutes if you have never done it. Gatekeeper and open-source apps. Unsigned apps such as OpenCluely have no notarized macOS build, so you run them from source. Corporate Macs with strict MDM profiles may block that, so check before interview day. Multiple monitors. Park the overlay on a second display, but know what happens if that monitor disconnects during a call. Some apps snap back to the main screen; others vanish off-canvas. Rehearse the scenario before interview day. Battery and heat. Local Whisper or Llama models tax the chip. Keep a charger nearby. Full-screen Spaces. A floating window can vanish behind Keynote or PowerPoint when you enter full-screen mode. Enable an “Always on top” setting (where available) or present in a windowed view.Policy check: when AI help turns into disqualification
Rules, not technology, decide whether an interview copilot is acceptable.
Federal tests. The U.S. Office of Personnel Management calls AI assistance “outside help” and treats it as a disqualifier in USA Hire assessments. Campus and retail hiring. The College Board and Target also prohibit undisclosed AI tools during live interviews. Corporate variation. Policies vary: Red Hat allows AI when you disclose it first; American Express permits AI for preparation but not live calls; Lincoln Electric may treat AI as an accommodation for disabilities if disclosed.Privacy law adds another layer: eleven U.S. states require two-party consent to record audio. Many copilots transcribe both voices, so using one without notice can raise wiretap questions.
Safe zones
Practice at home. No employer rules apply. Disclosed use. Email the recruiter: “I use an AI note-taker for accessibility; is that acceptable?” Get written consent. Company-provided AI. If the interview platform supplies its own assistant, use that and nothing else.Anything beyond those boundaries risks lost offers, legal exposure, and a note in applicant-tracking systems. Treat policy as the guardrail, not the fallback: ask first, save proof, and let AI support your answers, never invent them.
Conclusion
Comprehensive prep and unlimited live sessions. Final Round AI Pro costs $150 per month, or $25 per month only on the yearly plan, with no free trial. Three scheduled rounds this month. Verve AI’s three 15-minute sessions and five mock interviews map neatly to recruiter screen, tech round, and final panel. One high-stakes onsite, no subscriptions. Beak’s free monthly minutes plus the $19 Flex Pass cover a single critical call without long-term cost. Disclosure required, unlimited minutes preferred. Interview Copilot offers flat-rate, unlimited use that is easy to explain to a recruiter. Privacy first, happy to tinker. Natively in local mode keeps data on-device; OpenCluely is free and open source on your own Gemini key, at the cost of extra setup. Polish outweighs budget. ParakeetAI’s credit packs or unlimited plan provide the slickest UI, at a premium. Locked-down work Mac, no installs allowed. Sensei AI is browser-based; share a single window, not the whole screen.Pick the assistant whose limits match your calendar, hardware, and risk tolerance. Prep today, walk into the interview tomorrow, and focus on content, not countdown timers.
Hence then, the article about free ai interview assistant three kinds of free 8 options and what each costs you was published today ( ) and is available on MacSources ( Middle East ) The editorial team at PressBee has edited and verified it, and it may have been modified, fully republished, or quoted. You can read and follow the updates of this news or article from its original source.
Read More Details
Finally We wish PressBee provided you with enough information of ( Free AI Interview Assistant: Three Kinds of Free, 8 Options and What Each Costs You )
Also on site :
- JCPenney’s ‘Delicate’ Pink Sapphire Pendant Necklace Is a ‘Beautiful’ Holiday Gift, Now 79% Off
- Singapore Court grants enforcement orders authorising the seizure and sale of Tata Power's shares in Singapore companies
- Southeast Asia shouldn’t copy the U.S. healthcare model, says Walgreens Boots Alliance’s APAC head: ‘It saves your life, but it’s not very healthy’